The Athens Roundtable on AI and the Rule of Law

-

European Parliament
Rue Wiertz 60, 1047 Bruxelles, Belgium
Brussels
Belgium

Artificial intelligence (AI) is transforming our world as we know it, with new capabilities arising at an unprecedented pace. How do we ensure AI is governed in a manner that upholds our human rights, democratic values, and the rule of law?

We are delighted to invite you for this timely dialogue at the fourth edition of The Athens Roundtable on AI and the Rule of Law, scheduled to take place on:

Thursday, December 1st 2022

Location: virtual and in-person at the European Parliament in Brussels

Time: 4pm - 8pm CET | 10am - 2pm EST | 7am - 11am PST  

Join leaders from government, intergovernmental organizations, industry, legal and judicial systems, academia, and civil society in an action-oriented dialogue on:

  • trustworthy adoption of AI in conformity with human rights and democratic values;
  • effective enforcement of, and compliance with, AI laws and regulations;
  • implementation of AI international normative agreements; and
  • coordinated efforts for AI measurement and evaluation.

The Athens Roundtable is the premier international, multi-stakeholder forum on Artificial Intelligence and the Rule of Law. It is organized by The Future Society and the European Law Observatory on New Technologies (ELONtech) in partnership with the Patrick J. McGovern Foundation. The dialogue will transpire under the patronage of H.E. the President of the Hellenic Republic Ms Katerina Sakellaropoulou.

This year, it is proudly co-hosted by the European Parliament, OECD, UNESCO, Council of Europe, IEEE, Cravath, and Amazon Web Services, and supported by the Jain Family Institute, Arnold and Porter, and Debevoise and Plimpton.

Dr Gry Hasselbalch, Senior Expert, International Outreach for a Human-Centric Approach to AI (InTouchAI.eu) is a speaker in the Panel: Coordinating Measurement and Evaluation of AI.