In Eupen, the MOT, AEBR and CESCI together for a stronger partnership

Following on from their Strasbourg Declaration of 7 October 2021, the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR), the MOT and CESCI met in Eupen, in Belgium, on 5-6 April 2022, at the invitation of Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the Parliament of Belgium’s German-Speaking Community and President of the AEBR.

The three associations discussed the major issues of the moment: the need to restore peace in Europe and the neighbouring regions after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine; the resilience of "cross-border living areas" in the face of health or security crises and their recognition by governments and the EU; the climate and ecological transition; and the construction of multi-level governance to foster European cohesion. They reaffirmed their commitment to combine forces and to work together to address these issues; and they embarked on the drafting of a roadmap of actions they propose to implement together, which will be presented to governments and the European institutions.

Download the Strasbourg Declaration of 7 October 2021

AEBR MOT CESCI governance across borders Resilience