Improving mobility in the Euroregion Nouvelle Aquitaine-Euskadi-Navarra: TRANSFERMUGA project


A key issue in the Euroregion Nouvelle-Aquitaine – Euskadi – Navarra is that citizens are not sufficiently aware of the numerous possibilities for cross-border commuting. The TRANSFERMUGA project seeks to better integrate different transports by providing a shared multimodal web platform (railways, highways, cycle paths, ports, airports, etc.). As well as improving the information flows for passengers, this project aims to promote better institutional cooperation between the public administrations and transport authorities in the three regions.



The Euroregion is made of the three regions surrounding the Bay of Biscay: Euskadi and Navarra (ES) and Nouvelle-Aquitaine (FR). 



The project started as a pilot in 2015, after being selected as part of the Interreg programme 2014-2020 POCTEFA. It is managed by the Nouvelle-Aquitaine – Euskadi – Navarre Euroregion and is supported by the Union of Mobilities Basque Country Adour (FR), the Basque Rail Network ETS-RFV (ES), and SNCF Gares & Connexions (FR).



The project’s multilingual web platform calculates cross-border itineraries in the region with updated timetables for public transport (buses and trains). The platform has been used by more than 700,000 users.

In terms of mobility integration, the project created the PassEusk, a combined ticketing transport system between the French bus company (Transports64) and Spanish train company (Euskotren). Moreover, in 2015, the existing bus line was extended to cover the route of Bayonne-Hendaye (FR) to Irun (ES).


Additional info: